Month: October 2004

  • Suicide

    Lately I have been contemplating suicide. No not commiting it, the idea
    of it. The nature of those who commit it and why and how they come to
    do such things. I am thinking about this lately because my mind has
    recently been turned to the case of a guy who died less than half a
    year ago. I didn’t know him personally. I’d never even conversed with
    him online or in person. Indeed all I knew of him was that he wrote a
    story so extroardinary that I have never yet found the words to
    describe it to anyone. And he posted this story online in segments
    where I was priveleged enough to be one of the few who got a chance to
    read it. The story overall inspired in me a deep sense of awe, and even
    though I only read most sections once there are scenes that I can
    honestly say I’ll never forget.  I shared this story to some
    people I know by pointed them to it in an email but I never really
    talked about it.  Words just didn’t seem to do it justice.

    Now I know that this writer with so much talent and a future I was sure
    was destined for greatness commited suicide. He died just like anyone
    else dies and of his own volition. I can’t understand it! It drives me
    nutts! There is no other mystery that I would rather solve than that of
    the question of why genius should choose to die. It is so antithetical
    to my world view that everytime I think about it I am forced to wonder
    if all that I had ever believed was false and flawed and foolishly
    naive in the face of the realities of what makes people make decisions.

    However… I don’t believe in the things that people normally say about
    suicide. I don’t agree with the idea that it is completely senseless
    and irrational and that nobody will ever understand it. I would never
    want anyone to say that of me if I were to choose to die. I wouldn’t
    want people to say that I was just being emotional and irrational. I
    have no idea what could possibly motivate me to commit suicide and I
    strongly suspect it is a strict impossibility but I know that if I did
    make that decision I’d either want people to work toward understanding
    my actions or if not to at least acknowledge that maybe I was thinking
    rationally even if you yourself cannot understand it.

    And to be sure I don’t understand any suicide I’ve ever heard of. I
    don’t understand it when I see it in films or read about it in stories.
    It does seem wholly irrational to me. But I’ve got to believe that the
    world is not wholly irrational and that it doesn’t just throw away
    extroardinary potential just on a whim or for foolish reasons. I think
    that there is a story in each case. One that is worth understanding and
    that will make us all better people if we can really come to grasp it.

    Thinking about this case has lead me to one small conclusion about the
    kinds of people who commit suicide. Before in my confusion I would
    assume that those who commit suicide must be somehow detached from
    life, feel removed and disconnected and not really there.  I used
    to assume that to embrace an unreality you must feel that there really
    isn’t much different between your reality and that unreality.

    Now I really don’t think so. In fact I think it is probably just the
    opposite. A person can’t really despair if they don’t believe that the
    things that would make them despair are real or matter. It seems then
    likely that the people who are likely to commit suicide are those with
    the deepest connections to life. They might not be the normal ties that
    most people have to things they care about. They may seem weird and
    erratic to the external mind, but I wonder if they aren’t stronger and
    more deeply meaningful to the person than the ties the rest of us form
    that bind us.

    That’s romantic nonsense of course. But the idea of the fully detached
    suicide is equally oversimplified. There is no easy way to understand
    the minds of others. Only hard work and deep analysis will yield to
    real comprehension. It is analysis that must take place. We just can’t
    afford to keep losing genius.

  • Every once in a while I get into these useless arguments. I don’t know
    how I get into them and I don’t know why I persist in them as they in
    no way increase my knowledge or understanding of anything. Well I
    suppose they are a little fun  though ultimately meaningless.

    The odd thing is I don’t even know how I get into them. I don’t look
    for them and I don’t ask for them. Though I enjoy formulating arguments
    I have never been inclined to argue. The back and forth, thrust and
    parry rhythm of the debate has never been more that a slight
    distraction for me. It is the act of figuring out the ideas that serve
    as the foundation of debate that matters to me.

    These arguments always begin with me stating in passing some sort of
    strange proposition that I either believe or am on the verge of
    believing. Someone of a thinking sort though perceives for some reason
    some sort of contradiction in my words with some fundamental principles
    they believe or often have been taught to be true. They then,
    understandebly object to my proposition stating their pricinciple and
    the facts behind it as evidence for their objection.

    But I always agree with those facts. I almost always agree with the
    principle. At the very least I see that principle as one of many
    possibilities equally plausible to explain the phenomenon at
    hand.   This leaves me in a rather pricarious position in the
    arguments. My opposition is absolutely certain of their pricniple and
    will argue to no end in the rightness of it. Their goal is to convince
    me that my original statement cannot possibly be right because of the
    obvious truth of the principle. They often perceive the very act of my
    making my statement as an attack upon their principle. Other times they
    see my statement as evidence that I don’t understand something very
    basic and thus seek to ‘enlighten’ me of the obvious truth.

    This happens all the time. With people I respect greatly and those I
    don’t care so much for. People I once respected and people I learned to
    care about. Every time the feeling I have is the same. I think, how did
    I get into this mess? My opponent in this debate will do everything in
    his or her power to get me to argue against some principle that I don’t
    even disagree with in order to be able to ‘win’ the argument by
    nevertheless convincing me of the principle or making me back down to
    the claim.

    The problem is, it’s just not that simple to me. I see shades of gray,
    possibilities and probabiltiies and uncertainties.  Usually in
    these arguments I don’t see how the statement I made and the principle
    my opponent espouses are in contradiction.  I see that both can be
    true if you simply perceive the ideas in a slightly different light. So
    I almost always start off trying to reveal the connection. But my
    opponent will never have any of it. The whole reason they engaged in
    the argument was because they perceived a contradiction. They will see
    just about any statement I make as a statement against their position,
    a statement trying to prove something otherwise.  I have often in
    these arguments used the words “I agree with you” and “I agree with
    that” or “Nothing you’ve said seems incorrect to me” or “Yess that’s a
    plausible explanation” but these words never seem to begin to end the
    argument. They seem to goad my opponent to argue all the harder.
    Perhaps because I always follow those statements with a “but” or a
    “however” and try to explain why my initial statement can still hold.
    It seems as if they always cease upon the “but” and never really accept
    my statements of agreement.  In their minds the two statements are
    so clearly in contradiction that it is simply impossible for a person
    to hold both and they blithely ignore any arguments to the contrary.

    Its not just that they ignore these arguments. Its specifically how
    they ignore it.  An argument that two principles do not contradict
    is a hard thing to put forth. It will have a fundamentally different
    form than an argument for or against something. Indeed since in many
    ways it is a pre-emptive argument one that should not even be raised
    until the contradiction has been proven to exist, it ends up taking the
    terms of hypotheticals and sounds more like a lecture than an argument.
    In other words I am trying to guide the person to a new way of looking
    at things not trying to demonstrate a demonstrable truth.  But my
    opponents will have none of that. They will take any statement I make
    that hints at being contrary to their beliefs as an argument against
    those beliefs. This makes the argument much easier for them actually.
    They don’t need to prove the contradiction, they only have to pick
    apart precisely half of what I am saying and show that it does not
    contradict their position. Not surprisingly that isn’t hard since I
    wasn’t trying to contradict them in the first place!

    To make matters worse there are layers upon layers of uncertainty here.
    For one thing my initial statement was almost never made in absolute
    terms in the first place. If I did make it in absolute terms I will
    always always immediately admit that I misstated it if pressed.  I
    almost always say something like “It seems likely” or “I think it could
    be possible” or “A good explanation might be” etc.  In those cases
    where I do speak in absolutes and won’t detract them then it is because
    the absolutes are an inherently subjective statement that is beyond
    contradiction because it is a statement about what I am thinking then
    and there and usually about something as changeable as my feelings
    about one thingo r another.  I will be the first person to tell
    you that my beliefs can change in an instant and I hold very little as
    so fundamental that I would fight to hold on to it in the face of
    changing evidence.

     And then there’s the opposing principle. My opponent always
    states these things in such glaringly absolute terms that it makes me
    wince every time. I almsot never think of these principles as being so
    set in stone as my opponent. I usually see several alternatives or
    variations that my opponent does not or will not see.  Or perhaps
    my opponent has seen them but has already dismissed them as impossible
    and already considers himself to have certain proof of their
    inaccuracy. I don’t. Maybe I’m just not privy to the same good
    arguments my opponent has seen. Or maybe I just think the world just
    isn’t very simple. More often than not though I do think the principle
    my opponent guards so vehemently is at its core the most likely to be
    true or the best of the possible principles that I have encountered
    thus far.

    Often and more often now than in the past I grow tired of these
    repetitive patterns of arguments where I am fighting not to lose a game
    where the rules are defined by my opponent and I never wanted to play
    anyways. So I start to play my own game and define my own rules. The
    games I play are different each time, but they are each an attempt to
    gain some value out of the debate I got thrust into without engendering
    any ill will.

    Game 1:  Argue against the principle.  Here I try my hardest
    to prove the principle is just fundamentall untrue. The goal here is to
    perceive what kinds of arugments can be made in defense of the
    principle and to practice my skill at argument. In the end the results
    of the discussion mean nothing to me, I merely use it so that I might
    gather data in the form of certain arguments that I can examine later
    when I meditate on the subject in more depth. 

    The consequences of game 1 can sometimes be negative as my opponent can
    sometimes come to the conclusion that I am either an idiot, or
    hopelessly stubborn, or, if the discussion is on a moral issue a
    fundamentally evil being.  But with the exception of the moral
    issues the results I can usually live with. My opponents come away
    assured of their superiority but that often makes them surprisingly
    amicable to me. Sometimes though for those truly bound to their
    position they will come to despise me as one of ‘those people’ meaning
    those that don’t admit to the truth of the obvious. This is rather bad
    for future friendship but quite worthwhile a thing to know about a
    person.

    Game 2: Argue for alternatives to the principle:  Here the goal is
    to bring forth as many alternatives as possible and force my opponent
    to argue that his principle is the best choice.  In this case the
    goal is to broaden the outlook of my opponent while at the same time
    exercising my creative ingenuity in discovering alternatives to what
    may seem obvious. Often I get to invoke arguments by writers I don’t
    agree with in defense of my outlandish claims. This makes me understand
    their positions all the more and is an activity of great worth to me.

    The negative potential consequence is that my opponent sometimes comes
    to think of me as not sticking with any position, of being unwilling to
    come to a belief and defend it. Alternatively they may see me as stupid
    AND stubborn. i.e. the kind of person who will, rather than admit they
    are wrong, keep bringing up new arguments to try and prove my
    point.  However, usually due to the breadth of the discussion my
    opponents don’t ge the impression that I am all that dumb and often
    gain a respect for the depth of my knowledge of the subject or at least
    of my creativity in coming up with alternatives. In the end I think my
    opponents end up having fun when I play this game and that makes sure
    that in the end they are rarely left hostile to me.

    Game 3: Reveal the underlying questions that no one knows the answer
    to.  The other two games can safely be called exercises in
    rhetoric. Only in this game do I consider it true philosophy. There is,
    in nearly every argument, always something deeper hiding behind the
    surface. Usually even in the most grounded of principles there are
    presumptions that my opponent and I and everyone else have made that
    may not be as solid in nature as we may think. A deeper examination can
    reveal surprising things and can often become the root of a deeper and
    more valuable principle. Sometimes we can even go the full circuit and
    ultimately see how a broader principle based on fewer unfounded
    assumptions can be accepting of many different statements including,
    tada, my original statement. Other times we can even go deper and I
    perceive how incorrect or incomplete my original statement was and what
    broader statement may better realize the sentiment behind my initial
    statement.

    There are no real negatives to this game. The only problem is, it’s
    hard. I cannot do this so well on the spur of the moment. Many times
    the principles we are discussing are pretty low level and hard to break
    down into their component parts. It takes me time and thought to look
    at an issue and even begin to ask the questions that might lead to
    deeper enlightenment. Sometimes I don’t even know if there is a deeper
    level, though I almost always believe that there is. So usually I can’t
    do this unless I’ve already done considerable thought on the subject in
    the past and usually not until after I have done both of the analysis
    implicit in games one and two either in an internal debate or with real
    people. In any case although I have gut feelings above where the
    complexities lie in an issue being able to guide someone through them
    in a discussion requires effort and study. Really it requires a
    lifetime of study…

    The other problem is that it is sometimes a path that it is hard to
    lead my opponent down. Sometimes they will stubbornly refuse to discuss
    the other questions, sometimes they will accuse me of trying to
    distract from the issues at hand for my own selfish gains, othertimes
    they’ll just get bored with it. In any case its fine by me as I can
    always look at these questions on my own time and I never really wanted
    to get into the argument in the first place.

    So that’s about it. Those are my three most common strategies for
    dealing with this situation where I get into a one sided arguement
    wherein I am being maneuvered into arguing for something I don’t
    believe in.  There are of course other games. Some more
    manipulative, some  somewhat more honest. And there are games
    within games within games. But these three are the ones I use most
    often. So next times you get into an argument with me about something
    and you find yourself espousing a pretty fundamental principle and I
    suddenly go silent for a while rest assured that I have just concluded
    that this argument has gone into a realm whereby in its current form it
    holds no value for me and I am trying to pick the gameplan that will
    shift the argument into a form that is most likely to provide me with
    the most value with minimal negative consequences.  If I stay
    quiet it means I couldn’t come up with a plan or I decided it wasn’t
    worth the effort.

  • grr… Tech Support!

    I despise calling these stupid tech support numbers. They are the
    epitome of exercises in futility. It is very much clear to me that many
    of the people answering the phone don’t have a clue in what they are
    doing.  That alone wouldn’t be so bad if the tech support guys had
    the good graces to recognize when the person they are talking to is as
    or more knowledgeble than they are.  If the person would just do
    that then maybe he can combine his specialized knowledge of the way the
    particular system works and greater access to data and information with
    the callers own intellectual abilities to come to a real
    solution.   To make matters worse the tech support guys
    almost always seem somewhat bored or in an incredible hurry to settle
    the user’s problem with the easiest and quickest (and thus often the
    worst) possible solution.

    A case in point, today I ended up on the phone with a tech support
    person about why a particular website was malfunctioning. Why I even
    bothered I don’t know. It would have taken me much less time to just
    use trial and error.  Anyways the person of course stepped me
    through a bunch of obviously incorrect things like asking me if I’d
    entered the correct data in each and every field.  I obviously had
    and told him that right away. What’s more I characterized the problem
    in such a way that that shouldn’t have even been a consideration, as I
    described how the entire page was unresponsive. Finally the tech
    support person concluded that he didn’t know what the problem was
    unless I wasn’t using “Internet Explorer”.  Of course I wasn’t. I
    never use internet explorer if I can help it. When I said no, he said
    “what are you using netscape?”  Netscape! Why would that be the
    first thing to come to mind? These days netscape’s market share is less
    than Opera and various Mozilla browsers and probably less than
    safari/khtml based browsers too. Of course when I said “mozilla
    firefox” the person did not give any evidence to knowing what I was
    talking about. 

    So in the end I didn’t even try to pursue working with this person
    through trying to figure out exactly what security settings in firefox
    might be keeping their poorly designed site from working correctly.
    Instead I just switched to IE long enough to get it to work so that I
    could get off the phone and then continue my own experimentation. To
    know surprise to me a little later I had it working in firefox. 
    Why had I even bothered?

    Tech support is a worthless idea. They should not hire people who don’t
    know much to explain things while presuming that the people they are
    explaining it to don’t know anything. We should just get direct access
    to the creators of the system. What’s the point of the middle person
    anyways? Better yet they should just put all the sourcecode, including
    server side code, on a big visible link on the site, and access to an
    interactive debugger, so that anyone can just debug it themselves.

  • One of the funny things I’ve noticed in the political season is that
    some of the quotes used most often as an attack on John Kerry are
    actually amongst the very few quotes that make me find him at all
    interesting.  It’s not so much what he said but the subtle nature
    of the words he chose to use when saying it.

    There are two particular examples I’m thinking of right now. The first
    is the way Kerry speaks about his vote to authorize the use of force in
    Iraq. He says that he voted for it because he thinks “that’s the right
    kind of authority for a president to have.” Many people think that’s a
    stupid evasion, trying to step away from his commitment or trick people
    in some way. I don’t. It seems a very clear and interesting principled
    decision. In other words he voted to give the authority on the basis of
    theoretical considerations about the balance of powers and the role of
    Congress in a time of crisis.  That’s exactly the kind of decision
    making I greatly respect. It is much the way some justices will issue
    their decisions based on the practical implications of their decisions
    whereas others on the basis of theory and ideology.  Now obviously
    it would be absurd for any person to make all decisions on either
    extreme, but persons who consider the larger consequences of their
    actions seem more rare than the skilled practicalist.

    That being said, I don’t know whether it was all that reasonable to
    vote to give the President the authority for war in this case. Sure it
    was a good potential bargaining chip on the US’s side. Sure it very
    likely might have given the President enough sway in international
    negotiations  to push more aggressively against Saddam… But that
    only works if you had good reason to believe that the president would
    be seriously engaging in the diplomatic process. Also of course, there
    are lots of considerations about the scope and duration of the powers
    granted by Congress as well. In hindsight it looks like the president
    may not have used this power quite as well as he could have. Could
    Kerry have seen how things would unfold? Certainly not. Could he have
    guessed? Maybe. Even so I wouldn’t blame him for not being all seeing,
    just as in truth I don’t blame Bush for not knowing immediately that
    Saddam didn’t have WMDs. The explanation for what Kerry was thinking
    when he made the decision though makes perfect sense to me and its
    exactly how I should hope a great many senators think.

    To put a damper on that though, it also needs to be said that it is
    quite likely that the fact that at the time it probably seemed likely
    that it would be political suicide to vote against that particular bill
    at that time might well have influenced Kerry’s decision making process
    whether conscious or not. But who’s to say about such a thing. We
    should generally take poeple at their word except when we have good
    evidence to the contrary.

    The other statement that I like is of course the more recent “Global
    Test” statement.  Again the subtlety of the statement appeals to
    me. What he said in total was something like: 

    “The president always has the right, and always has had the right, for
    preemptive strike. That was a great doctrine throughout the Cold War.
    And it was always one of the things we argued about with respect to
    arms control.

    No president, though all of American history, has ever ceded, and
    nor would I, the right to preempt in any way necessary to protect the
    United States of America.

    But if and when you do it, Jim, you
    have to do it in a way that passes the test, that passes the global
    test where your countrymen, your people understand fully why you’re
    doing what you’re doing and you can prove to the world that you did it
    for legitimate reasons.”

     There is no way by any logical reading whatsoever that this
    can be interpreted as saying you have to ask other countries for
    permission before going to war or anything even remotely like
    that.  The media has picked this up as if Kerry had said we have
    to sit down and take a test designed by  other nations before they
    graciously decide to let us go to war. It is utterly beyond my
    comprehension to see how you can conclude that from the words that were
    spoken.

    However, I can see how people might not understand exactly what
    Kerry is saying. The basic meaning of the words is clear, but what they
    mean when put together is rather more abstract than most people are
    willing to deal with. You see this is in many ways a statement worthy
    of a philosopher.  It speaks of  a national standard of
    justification in an abstract sense. In the simplest interpretation he
    could be saying simply that if you go to war the citizens have to know
    the reason why they are going to war. You can’t just trick them and go
    to war anyway. They have to understand the reasons behind the
    war.  That’s actually not even a particularly challenging standard
    of justification to meet, unless you presume that he means ALL citizens
    which then makes it an impossible standard to meet.  But if he
    just means your countrymen, your people in the normal sense, meaning
    the bulk of people rational and intelligent enough to consider such
    things well then you might even make an argument that we DID pass that
    test when we wen to war in Iraq. Most people really did understand the
    reasons for war, which were weapons of mass destruction. Most people
    really did feel that they could defend the case of war to any observer
    whether diplomatic or otherwise.  It just so happens that in this
    case, most people were very badly wrong.

    So presumably Kerry’s test is somewhat stronger than that. If he
    means that the argument must be provable in the real sense. That is,
    that the beliefs for the justifications must ALWAYS be true, well then
    that standard is very difficult to meet and can never be determined
    whether it has been met until after the fact. So it really doesn’t make
    sense to critize an administration for not being certain of the truth,
    in particular when you have admitted in the past that you didn’t know
    the truth and aren’t sure that anyone did at the time.

    No. I think the key here in understanding the statement is the word
    “global”, the very word that  has made it such a mock-worthy
    statement in the media. Global reasonably suggests that the test must
    be thorough in a way involves all nations. That is to say, not only
    must your own people believe your case is strong and be capable of
    trying to prove it, your very proof has to be in some way convincing
    enough that others who don’t share your convictions, that don’t exist
    within your own internal echo chamber of reflective justifications can
    be convinced by your arguments at least to the point that they
    understand your decisions even if they themselves would not make the
    same.  In other words reasonable people throughout the world
    should all be able to conclude that you’ve at least given it a
    reasonable degree of reflection. The reasons that you used to justify
    your actions the rational people of the world should agree are
    legitimate reasons even if they don’t particularly like the outcome.

    That seems to me to be what Kerry was getting at.  And it is a
    subtle point indeed. Now whether its true is an entirely different
    question. I certainly prefer it to a totally unqualified doctrine of
    preemptive strike. The Kerry global test doctrine should be one that is
    seriously considered as a guide for Presidential action during wartime
    not mearly mocked and misinterpreted.

    Yet another separate question is whether Bush actually met that
    standard when he chose to go to war in Iraq. Since this standard does
    not require the truth of your convictions it is possible that Bush did
    meet it. But we have plenty of evidence of intelligence informed people
    throughout the world and in the United States who challenged whether
    the reasons for going to war were legitimate. They argued that the
    inspecters were working, the evidence for WMD was flimsy at best, that
    Saddam was effectively neutered and that America/the Bush
    administration really had hidden secret reasons for wanting to go to
    war in Iraq that were even less legitimate, such as our rage over 9/11,
    our need to increase our direct influence over that part of the world,
    and theoretical interests of the Bush administration both economic and
    personal.  Now to say that Bush actually did meet the Kerry
    criteria you would have to debunk each and every one of these claims by
    showing that there were not real hidden justifications for war and that
    the evidence for WMDs was convcing, that the inspecters weren’t
    working, and that Saddam really was a threat.  And many people do
    argue exactly those points. In so doing they are saying that President
    Bush did indeed pass the global test. Those objecters were largely
    irrational, mislead, or blinded by their own personal interests or
    dislike of America/the Bush Administration.  It’s all interesting
    arguments. History will have to say what is true.

    It is interesting to note that the reason we have fallen back upon
    is perhaps the only one that clearly unequivocally would have passed
    the Kerry test had we actually used it as our primary justification
    war. That reason is simply that Saddam Hussein was an evil vicous and
    cruel dictator that should never have been allowed to have the kind of
    power that he weilded.  Now this is an argument that  many
    would dislike. It is a justification that many would feel is not enough
    to justify the potential negative consquences of such a war, but few
    would argue that the reason itself is illegitimate or false in any way.
    People would by and large accept this sole justification for the war as
    being rational even as they are vehemently opposed to the actual
    fighting of the war. 

    That seems to be the essence of the Kerry test. Going to war for simple
    clear believable reasons such as “because they attacked us” (where the
    object is the correct ‘they’) or “in order to defeat a great
    evil”  (when the target clearly is that great evil) would
    generally pass the test whereas something more subjective and arguable
    such as “because he probably has weapons of mass destruction” does not.

    Again I think that is the most interesting thing Kerry has said in
    public that I have heard since he has started running. A shame that it
    is being painted in such a bad light.

    Just to throw something in so I can get all of my Kerry defenses out of
    the way in one post before I go back to some semblance of neutrality, I
    also have no particular problem with the statement “I voted for the 87
    billion before I voted against it.”  There seems to me to be
    absolutely nothing wrong with this statement. Indeed, this is how the
    senate works. PEople propose bills about the same subject and vote on
    them until one gets passed or none get passed. If none get passed they
    start writing up different bills on the same topic so that they can try
    to get one of them passed next time. That’s how it goes. So clearly
    Kerry voted for a bill that authorized 87 billion dollars for our
    troops in Iraq and it was a bill he felt was justified and the right
    way to fund our troops.. It’s just that his bill lost.. And that’s
    because his bill involving rolling back tax cuts which nobody wants to
    do. 

    Now the second bill came up and Kerry voted against it because he
    clearly believed it was the wrong way to fund our troops. It is
    impossible to logically conclude from that, that Kerry isn’t supportive
    of the troops, didn’t want them to get the money, or was being in any
    way anti-American by casting that particular vote.  It is in fact
    quite possible that another bill could have come up later that really
    would have supported our troops in Iraq that Kerry would have voted
    for.  That’s how it works. Why should Kerry be denigrated for
    voting against Bush’s plan for funding but not praised for voting FOR
    his own plan? Especially when they fund the troops to the toon of
    exactly the same dollar amount in cash?

    That’s generally the problem for running for president when you’ve been
    a senator for a long time. During the course of any senatorial career
    you can find hundreds of bills voted against that you can get any
    particular constituency to agree would have been good for the country,
    especially if you don’t describe them in depth and only give them nice
    oversimplified terms like “Funding for military/intelligence”, “tax
    increases/cuts”,  “education bills”, “medicare/medicaid/welfare
    reform”.  Why on Earth would we want representatives who vote for
    bills they DON’T agree with or that they believe are downright bad or
    wrong just so that they can say that they did “something” about that
    subject? That doesn’t make any sense. You want congressmen to be
    advocates of the right things that they believe in. Sure you want them
    to compromise sometimes but you certainly don’t want them to cave in
    when it matters even if that means in a future election people will say
    he voted against tax cuts or against military budget or whatever.

    Absentee-ism is a similarly idiotic nonstarter.  Do I want my
    representatives who are busy touring the world trying to run for
    election or doing whatever else that might keep them away from the
    votes but which is nevertheless still very important to still show up
    to vote anyway? I don’t think so, especially if they are most likely so
    preoccupied with those other things that they can’t possibly have
    familiarized themselves with all of the issues involved in these bills.
    In that sense it would be downright irresposible for them TO show up to
    vote. 

    Oh don’t get me wrong, being absent for whatever reason is certainly
    nothing to be proud of as it is a truly unique opportunity to be able
    to be a part of the process that makes laws that have a profound effect
    on the very future of a nation, but nor is it an unforgivable
    unexplainable thing. It probably isn’t a fact that should have a
    significant influence on how you vote.

  • Gotta love these debates. The candidates are all just striving to find
    opportunities to give their pre-planned speeches in a way that sounds
    like their kinda answering the questions and/or responding to their
    opponents. Is this really debating? Is there anything spontaneous about
    this at all besides the ordering?

  • Isn’t it interesting how the United States presidential election
    coverage is centering so excessively on where the candidates stand on
    the scale of certainty?

    Now certainty is an interesting thing, it is not quite the same as
    honesty or integrity or sincerity. Certainty unlike those others is a
    judgement about some form of information you are receiving. 
    Generally when you receive a continual consistent set of  good
    solid information and are a well reasoning individual then you tend to
    be more certain about it, less waivering, less likely to shift in
    beliefs unless you receive different reliable informaiton to the
    contrary. Good information tends to make you more likely stick to a
    course of actions based on that information.  In contrast if you
    receive information of varying degrees of quality, sometimes receive
    bad information and sometimes receive good information you are not
    going to be as certain. You’re going to switch positions sometimes
    provided you are a rational consistent being.

    The strange thing about this election is that the candidates are
    treating “certainty” as if it were an individual trait but what they
    are really talking about are the extremes of irrational behavior.
    President Bush’s side accusses Senator Kerry of being a “flip-flop”.
    They say he doesn’t take a consistent opinion on anything and doesn’t
    seem to know what he is doing.  The message is pretty clear. Kerry
    is a person who would change his opinion regardless of the information
    or circumstances according to the Bush campaign. He just is never
    certain about anything.

    In contrast on the other side the Kerry campaign wants to complain that
    Bush is just too certain about one set of beliefs. The assert that Bush
    is stubborn, doesn’t admit mistakes, never changes his mind, and
    ignores all information and data to the contrary.

    Now obviously both assertions are absurd when taken in the extreme. You
    would have to think that President Bush and Senator Kerry are beings
    without the most basic capacity for reason to believe that they fit
    into these absurd models. But really that’s the point.  You see
    politicians have learned that people respond very well to being given
    reasons to have no respect whatsoever for the other candidate. It seems
    that we’ve learned to enjoy hating the enemy, despising our opponents
    and thus pumping our favorites in direct contrast. People don’t easily
    get excited about a candidate on the basis of nuanced differences in
    specific policies. But they do get excited about a candidate if they
    think the other candidate is a utter moron that will lead our country
    to its doom.

    That’s really messed up and sad but in truth… it could be a lot
    worse. Certainty at least is foundationally about how the candidate
    reasons about issues. Sure nobody is this extremely stubborn being who
    doesn’t ever change their mind and sure nobody really is this crazy
    flip flop who never holds a consistent opinion, but at least a person
    can make a rational decision on the degree to which the candidates
    manifest those qualities.  That is you can maybe think that Bush
    is closer to being the stubborn extreme than Kerry is to being the
    flip-flop extreme but you might also think that conviction to a few
    ideals is more important (right now) than being flexible. Thus you
    might vote for Bush. And of course the opposite is equally likely. You
    might think that it is much more important that a person be willing to
    change their opinion in the face of evidence and hold nuanced opinions
    about things than mere consistency with ideals. Such a person might
    vote for Kerry even though they think Kerry is more flip-floppish than
    Bush is over stubborn.

    So yeah its pretty messed up that politics has become a game of paint
    your opponent as a mindless symbolic manifestion of an irrational
    ideal, but it isn’t quite so bad as it could be. Reason can still
    triumph in the face of such spin provided voters use it rather than
    give into the fear, distrust, and dislike that the campaigns want you
    to feel for the opponent.