October 30, 2007

  • Presidential Candidates

    A friend of mine sent me this link to a website that has a test that tells you which of the current presidential candidates you should support based solely on their positions on the issues. It isn’t very nuanced but it is fascinating.

    When I took the test I got Kucinich as my top scorer, followed closely by Gravel.  After that there’s a huge gap and then all the other Democratic candidates are really close to each other in this order: Obama, Clinton, Richardson, Edwards, Dodd, Biden.

    I’m a little surprised that Edwards and Richardson weren’t higher since I tend to favor them, and I’m not really a fan of Gravel despite his alliance with my opinions. But overall it seems pretty consistent with my perspective on the candidates.

    On the Republican side I end up with Ron Paul far and above my highest scorer. No surprise there. But in truth I’d support him over many of the higher scoring Democrats on my list. After that is McCain and that also seems dead on. Those are the two on that side I would have the least problem with being president.  After that though it is weird. Cox who I don’t really know at all is next and then Giuliani who I wouldn’t vote for if you threatened to torture me for all eternity if I didn’t. I just really really don’t like that guy. Fred Thompson is next, followed by Mike Huckabee. Those two sound right, but I would have flipped them. Huckabee is next after McCain for me. Then there’s a gap and you get Brownback, Romney, Hunter, and Tancredo in that order and yeah it’s true I don’t agree with those guys on just about anything.

    But of course, my real favorite candidate is Stephen Colbert.

    Anyway, it’s interesting. Give it a shot.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *